Picture
            Throughout the process of creating my tiles, I learned the basics techniques of how clay works through experimentation of textures, tools, and trial/error. I learned techniques such as layering, high and low relief, incision, and how to simply roll out a slab of clay evenly and cleanly. For this specific project, I didn't have any artistic concept to base on my tiles, only because I was experimenting new techniques that I can later apply to my works. I wouldn't say I experienced a “breakthrough,” but I definitely had a learning experience. I applied the technique of adding and subtracting geometric shapes from my artwork in my other class that I have been using for about a year. Scratching off the glaze to leave sections bare when firing for the second time, l discovered, acts like crayon and watercolor, leaving it white. I plan on continuing combining similar colored glazes to create a marble like finish. Also, I learned that the brighter colored glazes have a far less sophisticated look to them, so I want to continue to use cooler colors.         
        My struggles included using too much glaze and it filling in my incisions, my compositions not working well, and having my tiles warp/bend in the kiln. After firing, there was not much to do but accept that some tiles were not my best work. But, I did learn how to not repeat my mistakes for the future. Overall, the glazes frustrated me more than creating my tiles. Specifically the colors not being as vibrant as I had wished; they were dull in some areas and too bright in others. This project could have been improved by narrowing it down to six tiles, so we would be focused on quality not quantity. However, this being our first project, it was necessary to experiment with many tiles to learn necessary techniques. 
         The craftsmanship could have been improved, especially the symmetry of the tiles. Some are larger, thicker, or more warped than others. I feel that if I was more consistent and took more time in building the tiles, that would reflect as more time and effort was put into the project. I will try and focus on the challenge and effort area on the rubric in the future. Planning and challenging myself will definitely make my work appear better. Thinking back, I wish I had chosen more coherent colors as a group, because when all tiles are displayed on the board, the colors do not appear unified which takes away from each individual tile. 








Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.